John Grisham Books in Order

John Grisham is a renowned author known for his legal thrillers and captivating storytelling. Below is a comprehensive list of his books organized by series and publication order. This guide is designed to help readers navigate Grisham’s extensive bibliography, ensuring they enjoy his works in the order they were published.

For more book series in order, visit our Books in Order section.

Jake Brigance Books in Order

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1A Time to Kill1989Buy at Amazon
2Sycamore Row2013Buy at Amazon
3A Time for Mercy2020Buy at Amazon
4Homecoming2022Buy at Amazon

Mitch McDeere Books in Order

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1The Firm1991Buy at Amazon
2The Exchange2023Buy at Amazon

Theodore Boone Books in Order

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer / Young Lawyer2010Buy at Amazon
2The Abduction2010Buy at Amazon
3The Accused2012Buy at Amazon
4The Activist2013Buy at Amazon
5The Fugitive2015Buy at Amazon
6The Scandal2016Buy at Amazon
7The Accomplice2019Buy at Amazon

Camino Island Books in Order

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1Camino Island2017Buy at Amazon
2Camino Winds2020Buy at Amazon
3Camino Ghosts2024Buy at Amazon

Rogue Lawyer Books in Order

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1Rogue Lawyer2015Buy at Amazon
2Partners2016Buy at Amazon

The Whistler Books in Order

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1Witness to a Trial2016Buy at Amazon
2The Whistler2016Buy at Amazon
3The Judge’s List2021Buy at Amazon

Standalone Novels

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1The Pelican Brief1992Buy at Amazon
2The Client1993Buy at Amazon
3The Chamber1994Buy at Amazon
4The Rainmaker1995Buy at Amazon
5The Runaway Jury1996Buy at Amazon
6The Partner1997Buy at Amazon
7The Street Lawyer1998Buy at Amazon
8The Testament1999Buy at Amazon
9The Brethren2000Buy at Amazon
10A Painted House2001Buy at Amazon
11Skipping Christmas2001Buy at Amazon
12The Summons2002Buy at Amazon
13The King of Torts2003Buy at Amazon
14Bleachers2003Buy at Amazon
15The Last Juror2004Buy at Amazon
16The Broker2005Buy at Amazon
17Playing for Pizza2007Buy at Amazon
18The Appeal2008Buy at Amazon
19The Associate2009Buy at Amazon
20The Confession2010Buy at Amazon
21The Litigators2011Buy at Amazon
22Calico Joe2012Buy at Amazon
23The Racketeer2012Buy at Amazon
24Gray Mountain2014Buy at Amazon
25The Rooster Bar2017Buy at Amazon
26The Reckoning2018Buy at Amazon
27The Guardians2019Buy at Amazon
28Sooley2021Buy at Amazon
29The Boys from Biloxi2022Buy at Amazon

Short Stories/Novellas

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1Fetching Raymond2011Buy at Amazon
2Casino2011Buy at Amazon
3Fish Files2011Buy at Amazon
4Quiet Haven2011Buy at Amazon
5The Tumor2015Buy at Amazon

Short Story Collections

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1Ford County2008Buy at Amazon
2Sparring Partners2022Buy at Amazon

Non-Fiction Books in Order

OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town2006Buy at Amazon
2Framed: Astonishing True Stories of Wrongful Convictions (With: Jim McCloskey)2024Buy at Amazon


OrderTitlePublicationBuy Link
1Legal Briefs1998Buy at Amazon
2The Wavedancer Benefit: A Tribute to Frank Muller2002Buy at Amazon
3Their World is Law2002Buy at Amazon
4Delta Blues2009Buy at Amazon
5Don’t Quit Your Day Job: Acclaimed Authors and the Day Jobs They Quit2010Buy at Amazon
6Fourteen Days: An Unauthorized Gathering2024Buy at Amazon

About John Grisham

John Grisham was born on February 8, 1955, in Jonesboro, Arkansas. Growing up in the South, Grisham initially aspired to be a professional baseball player. However, his mother encouraged him to pursue higher education. He attended Mississippi State University and later graduated from law school at Ole Miss.

Grisham’s legal career began in 1983, but his passion for writing led him to author his first novel, “A Time to Kill,” inspired by a real-life case he encountered. His second novel, “The Firm,” became a major success, allowing him to transition to a full-time writing career.

Throughout his career, Grisham has received numerous awards and accolades for his work. His novels often explore themes of justice, morality, and the complexities of the legal system. Many of his books have been adapted into successful films, solidifying his place as a master of the legal thriller genre.

The Transformation of John Grisham Books Into Movies

Many of Grisham’s novels have been adapted into films, featuring star-studded casts and achieving box office success. Notable adaptations include:

  • The Firm (1993) starring Tom Cruise and Gene Hackman
  • A Time to Kill (1996) starring Samuel L. Jackson and Matthew McConaughey
  • The Pelican Brief (1993) starring Julia Roberts and Denzel Washington
  • The Client (1994) starring Susan Sarandon and Tommy Lee Jones